Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Dr. Lorraine Boakye (Pitt Ortho ’21) receives the 2023 RJOS Courage Award!

Congratulations to Dr. Lorraine Boakye (Pitt Ortho ’21) on receiving the 2023 Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society (RJOS) Courage Award!

Following residency training, Dr. Boakye completed a foot & ankle fellowship in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Harvard-Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA.  She is currently an assistant professor in orthopaedic surgery at the University of Pennsylvania.


Reprint below from the AAOS NOW / ISSUE: MARCH-APRIL 2023 / DIVERSITY01:

The RJOS Courage Award

The RJOS Courage Award was created in 2021 by Samara Friedman, MD, and Dr. Cannada. Dr. Friedman is the creator of the closed Women in Orthopaedics Facebook group, which has more than 1,800 members and permits administrator-approved anonymous postings, which sometimes include stories of courage and conviction. Arianna Giannakos, DO, was the inaugural award winner, followed by Maureen Maciel, MD, FAAOS.

This year, RJOS recognized an individual who defines courage and conviction in representing what is right to protect and help others: Lorraine Boakye, MD, assistant professor in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania. She was nominated by Rebekah Belayneh, MD, who was a resident with Dr. Boakye.