Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

2017 Resident and Fellow Graduation

The 2017 Graduation Ceremony was held on Wednesday evening, June 21st, at the historic Duquesne Club in Downtown Pittsburgh.  The evening’s celebration began at 6 PM with a cocktail reception, followed by dinner and the awards ceremony in the Main Dining Room. This year’s graduation ceremony was well attended by the faculty, residents, clinical and research fellows, as well as family and children.  Dr. Jack and Georgia Smith were also in attendance. As President of the Pitt Orthopaedic Alumni Association, Dr. Smith welcomed the 2017 residency graduates to the Pitt Orthopaedic Alumni Association.  

The Outstanding Senior Resident Award was presented to Nicholas Greco, MD. Each year, the Outstanding Senior Resident is voted on by faculty, non-graduating residents, and fellows. Nick will begin a joints fellowship at Joint Implant Surgeons in Columbus, Ohio. 

The graduating residents presented The Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence to Robert Kaufmann, MD.  The Golden Apple is awarded for the most outstanding contribution to Resident Education in Orthopaedic Surgery and is selected by the Orthopaedic Surgery Residents. Dr. Kaufmann is Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, and Director, UPMC Monroeville Surgical Center. 

2017 Graduating Residents:

Ermias S. Abebe, MD
Juan M. Giugale, MD
Nicholas J. Greco, MD
Tiffany R. Kadow, MD
Timothy J. McGlaston, MD
Gregory F. Meloy, MD
Patrick J. Ward, MD
Tiffany Y. Wu, MD

2017 Graduating Fellows:


Paul Cohen, PsyD
Jill Rachel Henley, PsyD

Primary Care Sports Medicine

David Espinoza, MD
Christopher Urbanek, DO
Megan Ferderber, MD
Joshua Rothenberg, DO

Sports Medicine

Jeremy Burnham, MD
Marcin Kowalczuk, MD
Christopher McCrum, MD
Thierry Pauyo, MD
Jason Shin, MD

Hand & Upper Extremity

Alan Blackburn, II, MD
Rishi Jindal, MD
Alex Lesiak, MD
Stephen Liu, MD
Tiffany Pan, MD
Joseph Styron, MD, PhD
Jonathan Winston, MD

Pediatric Orthopaedics

          Sherif Galal Hassan, MD (grad 10/2017)

Spine Surgery

Paul Hong, MD
Jason Toy, MD


          Mark Ayoub, MD

Congratulations to all!